Winter Bookish Bingo!

I will be participating in the Winter Bookish Bingo hosted by Bekka @ Pretty Deadly Reviews!

The Details (taken from Bekka’s blog):

  • Every new season has a new bingo card. This one is for books read in the months of December, January, and February.
  • The object is to get as many BINGOs as possible (five across, up and down, or diagonal)
  • One square per book
  • You do not have to review these books, or even have a blog, this is simply for books read during the allotted months
  • At the end of February there will be an international giveaway for all participants. The more BINGOs you get, the more entries you get in the giveaway!
  • To participate, simply leave a comment at Bekka’s blogpost!

winter-bingo

Categories with books I’m thinking about reading for it:

  • Green cover: “The Demon King” by Cinda Williams Chima
  • Alternative format: “Illuminae” by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
  • Set Abroad: “Moon at Night” by Deborah Ellis
  • Sequel: “Wayfarer” by Amexandra Bracken
  • Own Voice: “Girl in Translation” by Jean Kwok
  • Banned Book: None 
  • 2017 Debut: “Windfall” by Jennifer E. Smith
  • Romance: “Sofia Khan is Not Obliged” Ayisha Malik
  • GR Choice Nominee: “Heartless” by Marissa Meyer
  • Pink Cover: “Everything Leads to You” by Nina LaCour
  • Not YA: None
  • White Cover: “The Diabolic” by S.J Kincaid (it’s mostly white, anyway)
  • Crime: “A Study in Charlotte” by Brittany Cavallaro
  • Survival: None
  • Blue Cover: “All the Bright Places” by Jennifer Niven
  • LGBT: “As I Descended by Robin” Talley
  • Super Hyped: “And I Darken” by Kiersten White
  • Twitter Poll: None
  • Nature on Cover: None
  • Unreliable Narrator: None
  • Cover Buy: “Replica” by Lauren Oliver
  • Urban Fantasy: “Ever the Hunted” by Erin Summerill

I don’t know if I’ll actually stick to this list but at least I have a start.

Any recommendations for the ones I don’t have a book for? Are you participating in Winter Bookish Bingo?

7 thoughts on “Winter Bookish Bingo!

  1. Ohh, is that what alternative format meant? I thought it referred to a non-physical book. Oops, oh well. I’ve been looking at Illuminae, too, almost checked it out from the library but then I want to read more of my own books so guess that’ll wait. We both chose Everything Leads to You! I’m so excited for that. For nature on the Cover I’d suggest The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black. I recently read it and loved it 🙂 I don’t really know what your tastes are but for Non-YA my favorite books are The Wolf Road, Flowers for Algernon, and The Lovely Bones. Banned books: To Kill a Mockingbird or The Catcher in the Rye. I don’t really have any suggestions for the other categories but good luck! Your list sounds so good!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just took alternative format to mean a book that doesn’t look like usual books. 😀 Everything Leads to You has been on my TBR for the longest time! Hopefully this will give me enough motivation to actually go and read it. I just looked up “The Darkest Part of the Forest” and it sounds intriguing! I love Flowers for Algernon! The Wolf Road sounds awesome, how am I just finding out about this book? “To Kill a Mockingbird” is a personal favorite of mine! I did want to pick up more classics, I mean try “The Catcher in the Rye”. Classics can bore me to death sometimes though so we’ll see how far we get. Thank you so much for the recommendations, Lynn!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Gotcha! I think I’m gonna start Everything Leads to You now actually. I’m in the mood for fluff after reading The Square Root of Summer because gah. I hope you like them if you get the chance to read them! That’s amazing. I’ve hardly talked to anyone who’s read Flowers for Algernon. I cri evry time omg.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I read Flowers for Algernon back in middle school though so I think there were a lot of things that went over my head, I’ll need to read it again. I hope you like Everything Leads to You! Let me know what you think of it.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. This sounds awesome! I’m definitely doing this.
    Banned books: I highly recommend “The Da Vinci Code” by Dan Brown. It was banned in Malaysia in September of 2004.
    Not YA: Absolutely must read “Infidel” by Ayaan Hirsi Ali. It’s a really amazing biography about how her views on religion, specifically Islam, have changed over the years and why she’s become an activist today. Definitely controversial but I loved it.
    Nature on Cover: Maybe Origin by Jessica Khoury. I haven’t read this one yet but it sounds amazing.
    Supposedly, “The Catcher in the Rye” has an unreliable narrator but I wouldn’t know because I haven’t read it. And I’ve got nothing on Survival that you haven’t already read.
    I love your other choices, thanks for introducing me to this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Do it, do it, do it!!! I completely forgot about “Da Vinci Code”! I have a copy of it and everything. “Infidel” does sound interesting, and I do need to read more nonfiction, I rely on fiction way too much. I believe people say “The Catcher in the Rye” is one of those books everyone should read at least once so I’m definitely thinking about reading it.

      Yay, thanks! And you’re welcome! 😀 If you’re thinking about doing this too, I hope you also pick some of these books. I know you’ve been recommending “Everything Leads to You” and I haven’t been able to read it yet.

      Like

Leave a Reply

